11 National Employment Standards

One of the biggest changes to our Industrial Relations system this year is that the Fair Work Act has been amended to include a definition of a ‘casual employee’, along with extended casual conversion rules. 

The National Employment Standards (NES) have now also been updated as an indication of just how seriously Fair Work are taking these huge changes. There are now 11 National Employment Standards!

The new National Employment Standard is inserted as number 3

1. Maximum of 38 weekly hours of work – plus reasonable additional hours
2. Requests for flexible working arrangements
3. Offers and requests for casual conversion **NEW**
4. Parental leave and related entitlements
5. Annual leave
6. Personal/carer’s leave (includes sick leave), compassionate leave and unpaid family and domestic violence leave
7. Community service leave
8. Long service leave
9. Public holidays
10. Notice of termination and redundancy pay
11. Fair Work Information Statement and Casual Employment Information Statement

What does this mean for employers?

Employers need to be aware that the National Employment Standards have changed. The National Employment Standards now provide casual employees with a pathway to become a permanent employee unless the employer has reasonable grounds not to make an offer.

As a reminder!

Employers have to give every new employee a copy of the Fair Work Information Statement before or as soon as possible after they start their new job.

Employers now also have to give every new casual employee a copy of the Casual Employment Information Statement. Casuals should be provided with both documents.

CLICK HERE to view the full details of the 11 National Employment Standards:

Download the latest Employment Information Statements below:

CLICK HERE for the Fair Work Information Statement

CLICK HERE for the Casual Employment Information Statement

Share this post

Send an Enquiry